资讯事件

工业级SSD需要定期维护吗

浏览次数 : 208
作者 : PURPLELEC
更新时间 : 2023-10-26 10:25:39
  固态硬盘内部有一个主控芯片,可以自动更新优化固态硬盘的性能,如磨损平衡WL、垃圾回收GC、动态温度调节等。因此,工业级SSD不需要定期维护。
  SSD主控芯片负责整个固态硬盘的所有操作。包括读写操作和FTL层相关操作,如磨损平衡、垃圾回收、块管理、ECC纠错、动态温度调节等。这些操作是主控芯片上电后固态硬盘运行过程中自动控制的。
固态硬盘
  1.磨损平衡。
  磨损平衡的作用是避免过度使用闪存数据块。当数据块擦除写入次数超过阈值时,主控芯片会自动启动Wear-Leveling功能,更换数据块,从而平衡NAND闪存中数据块的擦除次数。这将有助于提高固态硬盘的使用寿命。
  二、垃圾回收。
  工业级SSD的垃圾回收类似于机械硬盘中的磁盘整理。机械硬盘的磁盘整理需要手动处理。固态硬盘的垃圾回收GC由固态硬盘内部固件自动控制。固态硬盘的存储介质是NAND闪存,NAND闪存无法覆盖和写入。
  也就是说,当我们想覆盖文件1并写入新数据时,数据不会写入原始存储数据位置(假设是数据块A),而是写入其他数据存储位置(假设是数据块B)。
  此时,文件1存储在数据块B中。数据块B称为有效数据块,而以前的数据块A称为无效数据块。当我们使用固态硬盘一段时间时,固态硬盘中有许多无效数据块。这些无效数据块将降低固态硬盘的存储空间利用率。
  因此,为了提高固态硬盘的使用寿命和利用率,固态硬盘主控固件将在某个节点自动启动垃圾回收,将有效数据块写入block,然后擦除含有无效数据块的block。
  3.动态温度调节。
  在工业级SSD中,还有一个自动控制功能,即动态温度调节。随着固态硬盘的速度越来越快,固态硬盘的加热问题已成为限制固态硬盘性能的关键因素。因此,在许多固态硬盘的主控中,都具有自动调节温度的功能。当固态硬盘温度达到一定阈值时,主控会自动降低工作频率,以达到固态硬盘冷却的目的。

News and Events

Does industrial-grade SSD require regular maintenance?

Views : 197
Author : PURPLELEC
Update time : 2023-10-26 10:25:39
  There is a main control chip inside the SSD, which can automatically update and optimize the performance of the SSD, such as wear balancing WL, garbage collection GC, dynamic temperature adjustment, etc. Therefore, industrial-grade SSDs do not require regular maintenance.
  The SSD main control chip is responsible for all operations of the entire solid state drive. Including read and write operations and FTL layer related operations, such as wear balancing, garbage collection, block management, ECC error correction, dynamic temperature adjustment, etc. These operations are automatically controlled during the operation of the solid state drive after the main control chip is powered on.
industrial-grade SSDs
  1. Wear balance.
  The purpose of wear leveling is to avoid overuse of flash data blocks. When the number of erase and write times of data blocks exceeds the threshold, the main control chip will automatically activate the Wear-Leveling function and replace the data blocks to balance the number of erase times of data blocks in NAND flash memory. This will help increase the lifespan of the SSD.
  2. Garbage recycling.
  Garbage collection of industrial-grade SSDs is similar to disk defragmentation in mechanical hard drives. Disk defragmentation of mechanical hard drives requires manual processing. The garbage collection GC of the solid state drive is automatically controlled by the internal firmware of the solid state drive. The storage medium of solid-state drives is NAND flash memory, and NAND flash memory cannot be overwritten or written to.
  That is, when we want to overwrite file 1 and write new data, the data will not be written to the original storage data location (assumed to be data block A), but to other data storage locations (assumed to be data block B).
  At this time, file 1 is stored in data block B. Data block B is called a valid data block, while the previous data block A is called an invalid data block. When we use SSD for a period of time, there are many invalid data blocks in the SSD. These invalid data blocks will reduce the storage space utilization of the solid state drive.
  Therefore, in order to improve the service life and utilization of the solid-state drive, the solid-state drive main control firmware will automatically start garbage collection on a certain node, write valid data blocks into the block, and then erase the block containing invalid data blocks.
  3. Dynamic temperature adjustment.
  In industrial-grade SSD, there is also an automatic control function, namely dynamic temperature adjustment. As SSDs become faster and faster, the heating problem of SSDs has become a key factor limiting SSD performance. Therefore, many SSD master controllers have the function of automatically adjusting the temperature. When the SSD temperature reaches a certain threshold, the main control will automatically reduce the operating frequency to achieve the purpose of cooling the SSD.