资讯事件

工业固态硬盘性能介绍

浏览次数 : 267
作者 : PURPLELEC
更新时间 : 2023-10-26 10:33:36
  工业物联网和工业4.0离我们越来越近,它们带来了颠覆性的变化和对可靠数据存储的需求,最终大大增加了工业存储领域的SSD数量。工业级固态硬盘中每个组件的需求与消费品有很大不同。
  工业级固态硬盘的闪存控制器必须支持先进的闪存管理,通过较低的写入放大因子、较高的数据完整性和较高的数据保存率、更持久的数据。端到端数据路径保护提供了进一步的方法,以确保整个处理块的数据完整性。防止未经授权的访问是工业级固态硬盘的另一个重要特另一个重要特通过按照先进的加密标准加密数据,并支持自加密驱动标准TCGOpal提供的。
  大多数消费者的SSD都配备了TLC或3DQLCNAND闪存。尽管大多数人仍然认为工业级固态硬盘应该配备SLC或3DMLCNAND闪存,但这并非绝对必要。
  与保留TLCNAND闪存相比,SLCND闪存的选择是因为它的高耐力,特别是在环境超过商业温度范围的情况下,从0°C到70°C。然而,对存储容量不断增长的需求往往需要低成本的技术——SLC闪存可能根本没有所需的容量,或者初始价格似乎没有竞争力。
工业固态硬盘
  尽管如此,特定的闪存控制器支持一个特性,允许它操作MLC或3DTLCflash,具有与SLCflash相当的耐久性和数据保留能力——这种模式称为伪SLC(PSLC)。它开启了选择MLC或TLC闪存的可能性,但同时操作接近SLC闪存的可用性。复杂的控制器支持以可靠性换取容量的伪操作模式。
  工业级固态硬盘最重要的特点之一是电源故障的稳定性。预计工业环境中的嵌入式设备不会受到突然断电的影响,并在此类事件中保持数据完整性。高质量的控制器实现一系列内部电压传感器,监控电源。
  根据制造商的不同,每个应用程序可以单独配置。如果电源低于配置阈值,固件将立即启动闪存写保护触发器,并采取进一步行动保护数据,并将应用程序设置为安全关闭。同样,闪存控制器负责处理此类事件,这是它与消费设备的本质区别。
  虽然闪存有不同的尺寸、接口和容量,但它背后的技术是相同的。在设计方面,它本质上是不可靠的,控制器和闪存的冗余最终决定了SSD的生命周期和质量。这就是为什么工业级固态硬盘必须与最新的闪存兼容,提供高可靠的操作模式、强大的纠错单元和先进的闪存冗余管理。

News and Events

Introduction to Industrial Solid State Drive Performance

Views : 236
Author : PURPLELEC
Update time : 2023-10-26 10:33:36
  The Industrial Internet of Things and Industry 4.0 are getting closer and closer to us, bringing disruptive changes and the need for reliable data storage, ultimately greatly increasing the number of SSDs in the industrial storage field. The needs of each component in an industrial-grade SSD are very different from those in a consumer product.
  The flash memory controller of industrial-grade solid-state drives must support advanced flash memory management through lower write amplification factors, higher data integrity and higher data retention rates, and more durable data. End-to-end data path protection provides a further means to ensure data integrity across the entire processing block. Preventing unauthorized access is another important feature of industrial-grade SSDs by encrypting data in accordance with advanced encryption standards and supporting the self-encrypting driver standard provided by TCGOpal.
industrial solid-state drives
  Most consumer SSDs are equipped with TLC or 3DQLCNAND flash memory. Although most people still believe that industrial-grade SSDs should be equipped with SLC or 3DMLC NAND flash memory, this is not absolutely necessary.
  Compared to retained TLCNAND flash, SLCND flash was chosen for its high endurance, especially in environments exceeding the commercial temperature range, from 0°C to 70°C. However, the growing demand for storage capacity often requires low-cost technology - SLC flash may simply not have the required capacity, or the initial price may not seem competitive.
  Nonetheless, certain flash memory controllers support a feature that allows it to operate MLC or 3DTLC flash with endurance and data retention comparable to SLC flash - this mode is called pseudo-SLC (PSLC). It opens up the possibility of choosing MLC or TLC flash, but at the same time operates close to the availability of SLC flash. Sophisticated controllers support pseudo operating modes that trade reliability for capacity.
  One of the most important features of industrial-grade SSDs is their stability against power failure. Embedded devices in industrial environments are expected to be immune to sudden power outages and maintain data integrity during such events. The high-quality controller implements a series of internal voltage sensors to monitor the power supply.
  Depending on the manufacturer, each application can be configured individually. If the power supply falls below the configured threshold, the firmware will immediately initiate the flash write protection trigger and take further action to protect the data and set the application to a safe shutdown. Again, the flash controller is responsible for handling such events, which is an essential difference from consumer devices.
  Although flash memory comes in different sizes, interfaces and capacities, the technology behind it is the same. In terms of design, it is inherently unreliable, and the redundancy of the controller and flash memory ultimately determines the life cycle and quality of the SSD. That’s why industrial-grade SSDs must be compatible with the latest flash memories, offering highly reliable operating modes, powerful error correction units and advanced flash redundancy management.