资讯事件

主动式和被动式DP转HDMI线的原理和区别

浏览次数 : 224
作者 : PURPLELEC
更新时间 : 2024-06-05 10:40:46
  DP(DisplayPort)和HDMI(High-Definition Multimedia Interface)是两种常见的视频接口标准,分别由VESA(Video Electronics Standards Association)和HDMI联盟制定。它们都可以传输高清视频和音频信号,但是有一些技术和功能上的差异。因此,在一些场合,我们可能需要使用DP转HDMI线来连接不同的设备,比如笔记本电脑和显示器,或者游戏机和电视。
DP转HDMI线
  DP转HDMI线有两种类型:主动式和被动式。它们的原理和区别是什么呢?又该如何选择适合自己的DP转HDMI线呢?
  主动式DP转HDMI线的原理是:在DP端放入一个转换芯片,主动将DP信号转换为HDMI信号,然后通过HDMI端输出。主动式DP转HDMI线的优点是兼容性高,可以支持更高的分辨率和刷新率,比如3840x2160 60Hz,也可以支持更多的音频格式,比如Dolby Atmos。主动式DP转HDMI线的缺点是,价格相对于非主动式DP转换线高。
  被动式DP转HDMI线的原理是:在DP端和HDMI端之间直接传输信号,不需要任何芯片或者电源供给。这种类型的DP转HDMI线利用了DP接口的双模功能,即可以输出DP信号或者兼容的DVI或者HDMI信号。被动式DP转HDMI线的优点是,价格较低,体积较小,不需要额外的电源供给。被动式DP转HDMI线的缺点是兼容性低,只能支持较低的分辨率和刷新率,比如1920x1080p 60Hz,也不支持一些高级的音频格式。
  那么,在实际应用中,我们该如何选择主动式或者被动式的DP转HDMI线呢?这主要取决于我们要连接的设备和需求。以下是一些参考建议:
  01.如果我们要连接的设备都支持DP接口,并且只需要传输视频信号,那么我们可以直接使用普通的DP线连接。
  02.如果我们要连接的设备都支持HDMI接口,并且只需要传输视频信号,那么我们可以直接使用普通的HDMI线连接。
  03.如果我们要连接的设备中有一个支持DP接口,另一个支持HDMI接口,并且只需要传输视频信号,并且分辨率和刷新率不超过1920x1080p 60Hz,那么我们可以使用被动式的DP转HDMI线。
  04.如果我们要连接的设备中有一个支持DP接口,另一个支持HDMI接口,并且需要传输视频和音频信号,并且分辨率和刷新率不超过1920x1080p 60Hz,并且音频格式不太复杂,那么我们也可以使用被动式的DP转HDMI线。
  05.如果我们要连接的设备中有一个支持DP接口,另一个支持HDMI接口,并且需要传输视频和音频信号,并且分辨率和刷新率需要达到3840x2160 60Hz或者音频格式比较复杂,那么我们就需要使用主动式的DP转HDMI线。
  主动式和被动式DP转HDMI线在应用领域和应用方案上也有一些区别。以下是一些典型的例子:
  01.如果我们要将笔记本电脑(支持DP接口)连接到显示器(支持HDMI接口),并且只需要看一些办公文档或者网页,并不需要高清画质或者立体声音效,那么我们可以使用被动式的DP转HDMI线。
  02.如果我们要将笔记本电脑(支持DP接口)连接到显示器(支持HDMI接口),并且想要享受4K分辨率或者HDR效果,并且听一些高保真音乐或者影视作品,那么我们就需要使用主动式的DP转HDMI线。
  03.如果我们要将游戏机(支持DP接口)连接到电视(支持HDMI接口),并且想要玩一些高画质或者高帧率的游戏,并且体验一些沉浸式音效或者环绕声效果,那么我们也需要使用主动式的DP转HDMI线。

News and Events

The principles and differences between active and passive DP to HDMI cables

Views : 31
Author : PURPLELEC
Update time : 2024-06-05 10:40:46
  DP (DisplayPort) and HDMI (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) are two common video interface standards, developed by VESA (Video Electronics Standards Association) and HDMI Alliance respectively. They can both transmit high-definition video and audio signals, but there are some technical and functional differences. Therefore, in some occasions, we may need to use DP to HDMI cable to connect different devices, such as laptops and monitors, or game consoles and TVs.
  DP to HDMI cables are of two types: active and passive. What are their principles and differences? How to choose a DP to HDMI cable that suits you?
DP to HDMI cables
  The principle of active DP to HDMI cable is: put a conversion chip in the DP end, actively convert the DP signal into an HDMI signal, and then output it through the HDMI end. The advantage of active DP to HDMI cable is high compatibility, can support higher resolution and refresh rate, such as 3840x2160 60Hz, and can also support more audio formats, such as Dolby Atmos. The disadvantage of active DP to HDMI cable is that the price is higher than that of non-active DP conversion cable.
  The principle of the passive DP to HDMI cable is to directly transmit signals between the DP end and the HDMI end without any chip or power supply. This type of DP to HDMI cable utilizes the dual-mode function of the DP interface, that is, it can output DP signals or compatible DVI or HDMI signals. The advantages of the passive DP to HDMI cable are low price, small size, and no need for additional power supply. The disadvantages of the passive DP to HDMI cable are low compatibility, only supporting lower resolutions and refresh rates, such as 1920x1080p 60Hz, and not supporting some advanced audio formats.
  So, in actual applications, how should we choose active or passive DP to HDMI cables? This mainly depends on the devices we want to connect and the needs. Here are some reference suggestions:
  01. If the devices we want to connect all support the DP interface and only need to transmit video signals, then we can directly use ordinary DP cables to connect.
  02. If the devices we want to connect all support the HDMI interface and only need to transmit video signals, then we can directly use ordinary HDMI cables to connect.
  03. If one of the devices we want to connect supports DP interface and the other supports HDMI interface, and only needs to transmit video signals, and the resolution and refresh rate do not exceed 1920x1080p 60Hz, then we can use a passive DP to HDMI cable.
  04. If one of the devices we want to connect supports DP interface and the other supports HDMI interface, and needs to transmit video and audio signals, and the resolution and refresh rate do not exceed 1920x1080p 60Hz, and the audio format is not too complicated, then we can also use a passive DP to HDMI cable.
  05. If one of the devices we want to connect supports DP interface and the other supports HDMI interface, and needs to transmit video and audio signals, and the resolution and refresh rate need to reach 3840x2160 60Hz or the audio format is more complicated, then we need to use an active DP to HDMI cable.
  There are also some differences between active and passive DP to HDMI cables in application areas and application solutions. Here are some typical examples:
  01. If we want to connect a laptop (supporting DP interface) to a monitor (supporting HDMI interface), and we only need to watch some office documents or web pages, and do not need high-definition picture quality or stereo sound effects, then we can use a passive DP to HDMI cable.
  02. If we want to connect a laptop (supporting DP interface) to a monitor (supporting HDMI interface), and want to enjoy 4K resolution or HDR effects, and listen to some high-fidelity music or film and television works, then we need to use an active DP to HDMI cable.
  03. If we want to connect a game console (supporting DP interface) to a TV (supporting HDMI interface), and want to play some high-definition or high-frame rate games, and experience some immersive sound effects or surround sound effects, then we also need to use an active DP to HDMI cable.