资讯事件

USB4系统结构的多级连接方式

浏览次数 : 115
作者 : PURPLELEC
更新时间 : 2024-03-21 09:59:55
  USB4系统结构由USB4主机,USB4集线器和USB4功能设备这3部分组成。USB4主机可以是支持USB4的笔记本和平板等,至少需要一个USB Type-C接口,支持USB 3.2数据传输,PCIe数据传输和DisplayPort视频信号传输。USB4集线器是一个USB4接口扩展出多个USB4接口的一种设备,也可以是USB4扩展坞。USB4功能设备,即外部设备,可以是显示器、固态硬盘、移动硬盘等。
  其实USB4集线器还可以连接另外的USB4集线器,然后另外的USB4集线器再接一个USB4集线器,如此反复,这样就可以扩展出更多的功能设备。如下图所示,这个就是USB4多级连接,每多一个USB4集线器,就多了一级连接。
  USB4系统结构的多级连接方式是怎么回事?
  01多级连接‍‍‍
  在介绍之前,需要说明“生成树”和“拓扑”这两个名词的概念。
  1 生成树
  生成树是对实际物体连接的一种抽象描述,可以将实际物体等效成一个个点,连接方式用线段来代替。生成树就是n个点和n-1条线段构成的连通的图形。所有点连接在一起,不能连成环。
  2 拓扑
  主机和各种设备实现互联时的抽象连接方式叫做拓扑结构(英文为Topology),互联即互相联合,强调彼此之间形成一个整体。拓扑研究的是主机和设备之间的连接关系,并将这些关系通过图形表示出来。描述拓扑结构实际的连接方式叫做物理拓扑。
  2.1 物理拓扑
  下面就来介绍USB4系统结构的物理拓扑,即描述USB4主机、USB4集线器和USB4功能设备的实际连接方式。他们之间连接的端口分为DFP和UFP两种。
  DFP,英文全称为Downstream Facing Port,表示下行端口,用在主机接口或者集线器上连接外部设备的接口,是数据的发送方。
  UFP,英文全称为Upstream Facing Port,表示上行端口,用在外部设备或者集线器上连接主机的接口,是数据的回应方。
  物理拓扑描述了各种设备连接在一起的布局,通常类似于一棵树,在树的根部有一个USB4主机,通过下行端口(DFP),和USB4集线器的上行端口(UFP)相连,可以连接一组或多组USB4集线器。USB4集线器的下行端口(DFP)和USB4功能设备的上行端口(UFP)相连,扩展出多个功能设备,也可以继续连接一个USB4集线器,再连接一个USB4集线器或者USB4功能设备,如此反复连接。
USB4集线器
  如果有多个USB设备连接到USB4主机,则会发生循环,形成一个环路。如果连接管理器在物理拓扑中检测到环路,则它将使用生成树形式的子集,并删除所有循环。如果物理拓扑中没有循环,则生成树与物理拓扑相同。
  2.2 拓扑ID
  连接管理器为其域中的每个路由器分配一个唯一的拓扑地址,称为拓扑ID。 拓扑ID代表路由器在域的生成树中的位置。路由器寻找传输路径依靠拓扑ID。
  拓扑ID是由七个适配器号组成的序列,代表主机路由器与主机路由器之间的生成树的每个级别的下行端口中的适配器。
  主机路由器的拓扑ID始终为0,0,0,0,0,0,0这7个数字。深度为X(X为1到5)的设备路由器的拓扑ID表示为0,…,0,Px-1,Px-2,…,P0,其中Pn是每一级适配器和上一级适配器通道连接的编号。下图显示了生成树的示例,以及对每个路由器的拓扑ID值的分配。
  比如路由器B的拓扑ID=0,0,0,0,0,0,7,表示路由器B连接上一级主机路由器的编号为7号的通道。路由器D的拓扑ID=0,0,0,0,0,3,7,表示路由器D连接上一级路由器B的编号为3号的通道,再连接上一级主机路由器的编号为7的通道。
USB4集线器
  多级连接除了包括USB4主机,USB4集线器和USB4功能设备之间的连接方式,还包括USB主机到主机的连接。
  02 USB4主机到主机连接
  两个连接的域中的连接管理器使用主机接口隧道数据包(USB 3.2数据、DisplayPort数据和PCIe数据的集合)相互通信。 主机到主机隧道的最常见用途是允许两个连接管理器通过各自的主机接口交换信息。
USB4集线器
  例如,两个USB4主机可以使用主机到主机隧道通过USB4交换数据。USB4主机路由器和其他任意数量的互相连接的路由器就组成一个域。描述域的互相联合的连接方式叫做域拓扑。主机之间数据传输同样需要路由器依靠拓扑ID来确定传输路径。
  域1(Domain 1)的路由器A的数据包发送到域2(Domain 2)中的主机路由器,相对于域1,域2的路由数据包的拓扑ID为[0,0,0,0,0,3,5]。即连接了域1的路由器A的3号通道和主机路由器的5号通道。
  域2中的主机路由器将数据包发送给域1,相对于域2,域1的路由器A的拓扑ID为[0,0,0,0,0,0,5],即连接了域2的5号通道。

News and Events

Multi-level connection method of USB4 system structure

Views : 153
Author : PURPLELEC
Update time : 2024-03-21 09:59:55
  The USB4 system structure consists of three parts: USB4 host, USB4 hub and USB4 functional device. USB4 hosts can be laptops and tablets that support USB4. They need at least one USB Type-C interface to support USB 3.2 data transmission, PCIe data transmission and DisplayPort video signal transmission. A USB4 hub is a device that extends a USB4 interface to multiple USB4 interfaces. It can also be a USB4 docking station. USB4 functional devices, that is, external devices, can be monitors, solid-state drives, mobile hard drives, etc.
  In fact, a USB4 hub can also be connected to another USB4 hub, and then another USB4 hub is connected to another USB4 hub, and so on, so that more functional devices can be expanded. As shown in the figure below, this is a USB4 multi-level connection. Each additional USB4 hub has an additional level of connection.
  What is the multi-level connection method of USB4 system structure?
  01Multi-level connection‍‍‍
  Before the introduction, it is necessary to explain the concepts of the two terms "spanning tree" and "topology".
  1 spanning tree
  Spanning tree is an abstract description of the connection of actual objects. It can equate actual objects into points, and the connection method is replaced by line segments. A spanning tree is a connected graph composed of n points and n-1 line segments. All points are connected together and cannot form a loop.
  In the figure below, the 6 points on the left are connected. One more line segment will form a ring. One less line segment will not guarantee that every point is connected. By changing the position of such a connection, a tree structure can be obtained. This connection method is called a spanning tree. It can be compared to a real tree. From the root to the trunk, then the branches, and finally the leaves, there is only one road between any two leaves.
  2 Topology
  The abstract connection method when the host and various devices are interconnected is called topology (English: Topology). Interconnection means mutual union, emphasizing that they form a whole. Topology studies the connection relationships between hosts and devices, and represents these relationships graphically. The actual connection method that describes the topology is called the physical topology.
  2.1 Physical topology
  The following is an introduction to the physical topology of the USB4 system structure, that is, describing the actual connection methods of USB4 hosts, USB4 hubs and USB4 functional devices. The ports connected between them are divided into two types: DFP and UFP.
  DFP, the full English name is Downstream Facing Port, which represents the downstream port. It is used on the host interface or hub to connect to external devices and is the sender of data.
  UFP, the full name in English is Upstream Facing Port, which represents the upstream port. It is used as an interface on external devices or hubs to connect to the host. It is the responder of data.
  The physical topology describes the layout of various devices connected together, usually similar to a tree. There is a USB4 host at the root of the tree, connected to the upstream port (UFP) of the USB4 hub through the downstream port (DFP), which can connect a One or more USB4 hubs. The downstream port (DFP) of the USB4 hub is connected to the upstream port (UFP) of the USB4 functional device to expand multiple functional devices. You can also continue to connect a USB4 hub, then connect a USB4 hub or USB4 functional device, and connect repeatedly.
  If there are multiple USB devices connected to the USB4 host, looping will occur, forming a loop. If the connection manager detects loops in the physical topology, it uses a subset of the spanning tree form and removes any loops. If there are no cycles in the physical topology, the spanning tree is the same as the physical topology.
  2.2 Topology ID
  The connection manager assigns each router in its domain a unique topology address, called a topology ID. The topology ID represents the router's position in the domain's spanning tree. Routers rely on topology IDs to find transmission paths.
  The topology ID is a sequence of seven adapter numbers that represent the adapters in the downstream ports at each level of the spanning tree between the host router and the host router.
  The topology ID of the host router is always the seven numbers 0,0,0,0,0,0,0. The topology ID of a device router with a depth of number. The figure below shows an example of a spanning tree and the assignment of topology ID values to each router.
  For example, the topology ID of router B=0,0,0,0,0,0,7 means that router B connects to the channel number 7 of the upper-level host router. The topology ID of router D is 0,0,0,0,0,3,7, which means that router D is connected to the channel numbered 3 of the upper-level router B, and then connected to the channel numbered 7 of the upper-level host router. .
  In addition to the connection between USB4 hosts, USB4 hubs and USB4 functional devices, multi-level connections also include USB host-to-host connections.
  02 USB4 host to host connection
  Connection managers in two connected domains communicate with each other using host interface tunnel packets (a collection of USB 3.2 data, DisplayPort data, and PCIe data). The most common use of host-to-host tunnels is to allow two connection managers to exchange information through their respective host interfaces.
  For example, two USB4 hosts can exchange data over USB4 using host-to-host tunneling. A USB4 host router and any number of other interconnected routers form a domain. The interconnection method that describes the interconnection of domains is called domain topology. Data transmission between hosts also requires the router to determine the transmission path based on the topology ID.
  The data packet of Router A in Domain 1 is sent to the host router in Domain 2. Compared with Domain 1, the topology ID of the routing data packet of Domain 2 is [0, 0, 0, 0, 0 , 3, 5]. That is, channel 3 of router A in domain 1 is connected to channel 5 of the host router.
  The host router in domain 2 sends the data packet to domain 1. Relative to domain 2, the topology ID of router A in domain 1 is [0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 5], that is, it is connected to domain 2. Channel 5.