资讯事件

usb hub的工作原理是什么

浏览次数 : 491
作者 : PURPLELEC
更新时间 : 2023-08-14 11:15:46
  USB HUB用于设备扩展连接,所有USB DEVICE都连接在USB HUB的端口上。一个USB HOST总与一个根HUB (USB ROOT HUB)相连。USB HUB为其每个端口提供100mA电流供设备使用。
  同时,USB HUB可以通过端口的电气变化诊断出设备的插拔操作,并通过响应USB HOST的数据包把端口状态汇报给USB HOST。
  一般来说,USB设备与USB HUB间的连线长度不超过5m,USB系统的级联不能超过5级(包括ROOT HUB)。
  USB Hub的下游各个接口会平分上游接口带宽,加上USB Hub本身也需要传输控制信号,所以下游各个设备的带宽是必然要小于上游设备的总带宽。
  实际情况是,现在主流的USB 3.0设备都很难占满总带宽(5Gbps),比如主流的3.0 U盘大概只有100MB~200MB/s的传输速度,折合带宽也不到2Gbps,所以实际情况是不一定。
USB Hub
  USB Hub的原理比较复杂,USB协议规范里最复杂的部分就是Hub的章节,USB Hub与网络设备(以太网)的Hub原理相差很多,如果真要类比的话,复杂度大概相当于网络的设备里的路由器。
  USB协议中有控制传输、Bulk传输、中断传输、同步传输四种模式,其中:
  控制传输用于传输控制设备一级的指令;
  Bulk传输(中文名可能叫批传输)主要用于传输USB各种大块数据,比如U盘读写的数据;
  中断传输,用于传输小块数据,鼠标键盘主要使用中断传输;
  同步传输,用于传输实时性不够强的数据,也就是说不保证可靠性,部分USB音频设备使用这种传输;
  USB Hub负责整合下游设备的各种传输信号,其中同步传输有一定限制,如果超过总带宽的某个比例(记忆中是20%),那么超出比例的同步传输将被丢弃;中断传输和控制传输占用的是保留带宽,不允许丢弃;Bulk传输占用剩下的带宽,如果没有同步传输,那么Bulk传输大概能占到90%以上的总带宽。
  USB Hub整合数据以后向上游设备发送,如果上游还有USB Hub,那么上游的设备还会继续做同样的操作。另外,需要说明的是,通常来说主机上的USB接口,本身就是一个Root Hub,如果一个PC上有多个接口,可能是多个接口共用一个控制器,每个控制器上有一个Root Hub。
  所以USB Hub相当于重新封装了各种数据包,类似于网络设备里的路由器,而不像交换机或者集线器(Hub)那么简单。
  同时USB Hub自身还是一个USB设备,负责向上级汇报自己的下级有多少个设备,它本身也要占用一些带宽周期性汇报自己的状态。
USB Hub
  由于以太网等很多网络(常见共享HUB连接的内部网)是基于总线方式,物理上是广播的,就是当一个机器发给另一个机器的数据,共享HUB先收到然后把它接收到的数据再发给其他的(来的那个口不发了)每一个口,所以在共享HUB下面同一网段的所有机器的网卡都能接收到数据。
  交换式HUB的内部单片程序能记住每个口的MAC地址,以后就该哪个机器接收就发往哪个口,而不是像共享HUB那样发给所有的口,所以交换HUB下只有该接收数据的机器的网卡能接收到数据,当然广播包还是发往所有口。
  显然共享HUB的工作模式使得两个机器传输数据的时候其他机器别的口也占用了,所以共享HUB决定了同一网段同一时间只能有两个机器进行数据通信,而交换HUB两个机器传输数据的时候别的口没有占用,所以别的口之间也可以同时传输。
  这就是共享HUB与交换HUB不同的两个地方,共享HUB是同一时间只能一个机器发数据并且所有机器都可以接收,只要不是广播数据交换HUB同一时间可以有对机器进行数据传输并且数据是私有的。

News and Events

what is the working principle of usb hub

Views : 151
Author : PURPLELEC
Update time : 2023-08-14 11:15:46

  USB HUB is used for equipment expansion connection, and all USB DEVICEs are connected to the ports of USB HUB. A USB HOST is always connected with a root HUB (USB ROOT HUB). The USB HUB provides 100mA current for each port of the device.

  At the same time, the USB HUB can diagnose the plugging and unplugging operation of the device through the electrical changes of the port, and report the port status to the USB HOST by responding to the data packet of the USB HOST.

  Generally speaking, the length of the connection between the USB device and the USB HUB should not exceed 5m, and the cascading of the USB system should not exceed level 5 (including ROOT HUB).

  The downstream interfaces of the USB Hub will equally share the bandwidth of the upstream interface, and the USB Hub itself also needs to transmit control signals, so the bandwidth of each downstream device must be smaller than the total bandwidth of the upstream device.

  The actual situation is that it is difficult for the mainstream USB 3.0 devices to occupy the total bandwidth (5Gbps). For example, the mainstream 3.0 U disk only has a transmission speed of 100MB~200MB/s, and the equivalent bandwidth is less than 2Gbps, so the actual situation is not must.

USB Hub

  The principle of USB Hub is relatively complicated. The most complicated part of the USB protocol specification is the chapter of Hub. The principle of USB Hub is quite different from that of network equipment (Ethernet). If you really want to compare it, the complexity is about the same as that of network equipment router.

  There are four modes in the USB protocol: control transfer, bulk transfer, interrupt transfer, and synchronous transfer, among which:

  Control transmission is used to transmit instructions at the control equipment level;

  Bulk transmission (the Chinese name may be called batch transmission) is mainly used to transmit various large blocks of USB data, such as data read and written by U disk;

  Interrupt transmission, used to transmit small pieces of data, the mouse and keyboard mainly use interrupt transmission;

  Synchronous transmission is used to transmit data whose real-time performance is not strong enough, that is to say, the reliability is not guaranteed, and some USB audio devices use this kind of transmission;

  The USB Hub is responsible for integrating various transmission signals of downstream devices. The synchronous transmission has a certain limit. If it exceeds a certain proportion of the total bandwidth (20% in memory), the synchronous transmission exceeding the proportion will be discarded; interrupt transmission and control transmission It occupies the reserved bandwidth and is not allowed to be discarded; Bulk transmission occupies the remaining bandwidth. If there is no synchronous transmission, then Bulk transmission can account for more than 90% of the total bandwidth.

  The USB Hub integrates the data and sends it to the upstream device. If there is a USB Hub upstream, the upstream device will continue to do the same operation. In addition, it should be noted that, generally speaking, the USB interface on the host itself is a Root Hub. If there are multiple interfaces on a PC, it may be that multiple interfaces share a controller, and each controller has a Root Hub. .

  So USB Hub is equivalent to repackaging various data packets, similar to a router in a network device, not as simple as a switch or a hub (Hub).

  At the same time, the USB Hub itself is still a USB device, which is responsible for reporting to the superior how many devices there are in its subordinates, and it also occupies some bandwidth to report its status periodically.

USB Hub

  Since many networks such as Ethernet (common internal networks connected by shared HUBs) are based on the bus mode, they are physically broadcast, that is, when one machine sends data to another machine, the shared HUB first receives and then receives the data Then send it to every other port (the port that came from it will not be sent), so the network cards of all machines on the same network segment under the shared HUB can receive the data.

  The internal single-chip program of the switching HUB can remember the MAC address of each port, and in the future, which machine should receive it and send it to that port, instead of sending it to all ports like a shared HUB, so only the received data under the switching HUB The network card of the machine can receive the data, and of course the broadcast packet is still sent to all ports.

  Obviously, the working mode of the shared HUB makes the other ports of other machines also occupy when the two machines transmit data, so the shared HUB determines that only two machines can communicate with each other on the same network segment at the same time, while the two machines of the exchange HUB transmit data. The other ports are not occupied during data transmission, so other ports can also be transmitted at the same time.

  These are the two differences between the shared HUB and the exchanged HUB. The shared HUB means that only one machine can send data at the same time and all machines can receive it. As long as it is not a broadcast data exchange HUB can transmit data to the machine at the same time and the data is private. of.

pop_close
pop_main
Welcome to PURPLELEC
Please leave a message here, Get the latest product development information and Price。